People

Prof. Alan J. Grodzinsky

Principal Investigator

Department of Biological Engineering 
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Department of Mechanical Engineering

alg@mit.edu
Full CV

 

Current Lab Members:

Linda Bragman | Administrative Assistant

lbragman@mit.edu | NE47-377

Eliot Frank, Ph.D. | Senior Research Engineer

ehfrank@mit.edu | NE47-381

Han-Hwa Hung | Research Specialist / Lab Manager

hkhung@mit.edu | NE47-382

Lisa Flaman | Technical Associate

lflaman@mit.edu | NE47-385

Brianne Connizzo | Postdoctoral Fellow

Models of tendon aging, mechanical injury, and inflammation

connizzo@mit.edu | NE47-390

Ramin Oftadeh | Postdoctoral Associate

AFM-based tissue nanomechanics for mouse models of OA

roftadeh@mit.edu | NE47-388

Garima Dwivedi | Postdoctoral Associate

​Cartilage-bone-synovium co-culture model for PTOA pathogenesis and treatment on
Earth and in space

gdwivedi@mit.edu | NE47-390

Cristina Florea | Postdoctoral Fellow

Mechanisms of progression of cartilage damage at the cellular and tissue levels

cflorea@mit.edu | NE47-388

Yamini Krishnan | PhD Candidate, Department of Chemical Engineering

Charged nanocarriers for PTOA drug delivery

yamini_k@mit.edu

Rebecca Black | PhD Candidate, Department of Biological Engineering

Systems analysis of drug effects on cartilage metabolism and homeostasis in osteoarthritis

rblack@mit.edu

Christina Rossitto | Undergraduate Senior

Drug delivery for post-traumatic osteoarthritis

Sarah DiIorio | Undergraduate Senior

Drug delivery for post-traumatic osteoarthritis

 

Visiting Scientists and Research Affiliates:

Mojtaba Azadi | Visiting Scientist

Assisstant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, San Fransisco State University             

Rachel E. Miller, Ph.D. | Visiting Scientist

Rush University Medical Center

Hadi Takavoli Nia | Visiting Scientist

Assisstant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Boston University

Bernd Rolauffs, M.D. | Visiting Scientist

Eberhard Karls Universität Tuübingen, Department of Orthopaedics

Ambika Goel Bajpayee | Research Affiliate

Assisstant Professor of Bioengineering, Northeastern University

Emily Florine, Ph.D. | Research Affiliate

Ironwood Pharmaceuticals

Paul Kopesky, Ph.D. | Research Affiliate

Magenta Therapeutics

 

Recent Alumni: 

Brett Geiger | Ph.D., Biological Engineering, 2018

Mojtaba Azadi | Postdoctoral Associate, 2011-2014

Assisstant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, San Fransisco State University  

Lin Han | Postdoctoral Associate, 2009-2012

Assisstant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Drexel University

Yang Wang | Ph.D., Biological Engineering, 2016

McKinsey & Company

Paul Liebesny | Ph.D., Biological Engineering, 2016

Decibel Therapeutics

Ambika Goel Bajpayee | Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, 2015

Assisstant Professor of Bioengineering, Northeastern University                                        

Hadi Takavoli Nia | Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, 2013

Assisstant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Boston University

Chelsey Wallace | M.S., Medical Science, 2018 (Boston University)

Indiana University School of Medicine

Jennifer Ibañez | M.Eng., Biological Engineering, 2017

ClearView Healthcare Partners

Whitney Young | M.S., Mechanical Engineering, 2016

Ball Aerospace

Hannah Zlotnik | B.S., Biological Engineering, 2017

Ph.D. Student, Bioengineering, University of Pennsylvania

John Drago | B.S., Mechanical Engineering, 2017

Harvard Medical School

Nathan Varady | B.S., Mechanical Engineering, 2017

Harvard Medical School

Sherry Wan | B.S., Biology, 2016

DMD/MSE Candidate, University of Pennsylvania

 

Full list of lab alumni